Country Park

On a hot summer day, I went for a picnic with family. While the golden yellow sun was rising, we were riding in a minibus filled with cool air. Once the minibus stopped, I got off quickly and took a deep breath. A clean crisp air went into my nose, and the smell of nature was fresh. It was the Clear Water Bay Country Park in Sai Kung.

20130825_IMG_0852

Some bright yellow light rays penetrating those green leaves grown on branches of trees were shining on my head when I was walking into the country park. Around the grey barbecue site, plenty of tall trees were grown. We settled ourselves on a wooden bench with our belongings before firing up the black charcoal on fireplace. The sky was immensely blue with several white clouds which looked like cotton. It made me comfortable. Sitting in front of a smoky barbecue under the blue sky, my uncle was roasting a steak and my auntie was putting the foil wrapped corns near to the red flame. The children nearby were eating some roasted marshmallows. The marshmallows seemed yummy as the children smiled happily and laughed loudly. A spicy smell of roasted chicken wings, sausages, ribs, and steak wafted through the air. I ate some pork ribs in honey. They were delicious.

20130825_162038

In the afternoon, the grassy slope next to the barbecue site was full of kite players. Many flowers and young grasses grew on the spacious slope. Looking up to the beautiful sky, I saw a thick white cloud gliding slowly and changing its shape. Diamond-shaped and butterfly-like kites were flying in the sky. Red, yellow, purple going high in the sky made the sky colorful. The giant sun shining in the sky made shadows behind people longer. The light color of grasses and the dim shadow of people made a huge contrast, and it was glorious. An old man who wore sunglasses and a khaki cap was releasing the length of string to let his glossy kite went higher at a good moment in which a gentle breeze came. The soft wind touched my face and cooled my body. Suddenly, a light drizzle came. People ran into a small pavilion quickly with their falling kites. After several minutes, the rain had stopped and I heard the joyful voice from kids. The wet grasses and the moist soil made the floor slippery. An intense smell of earth was in everywhere. I was relaxed with the refreshing clean air.

Going back to the barbecue site, some guitar sounds and soft music got into my ears. Someone was playing “I’m Yours” with a guitar and sang it out. The color of sky changed from pale blue to orange gradually. Under the peaceful sunset, we started to leave with a warm feeling. “It’s a rainbow!” My little cousin said. A beautiful short rainbow was in the sky. It surprised us and I took a memorable photo. It was a wonderful day in the countryside with the.20130825_IMG_0890

6 thoughts on “Country Park

  1. I think you essay is really beautiful and realistic. I can even imagine how joyful were you and your family and also the wonderful views. In fact, I have gone to this park when I am a primary school student. Your article is full of detail and you reminded me all the happiest thing happened with my friends and classmates in this place. You use tons of suitable adjective and adverb which is good for your writhing since it provides us a moving, colourful picture of this place. Be hard-working, keep your heart on English writing and values your family or who you love.

    • Thank you so much, Claudia and Apple 😀 It is a beautiful place. Actually, there are many places in Hong Kong which have such a wonderful view. I love the countryside very much. It is good to stay there with family and friends, and the nature will give you a peaceful feel~! Hope you guys can find a time to visit it during the semester break or holidays~!!!!! =]

  2. Although I haven’t been to this country park, I can draw a clear picture of this place. You have used lot of adjectives to describe the beautiful scenes in the country park, it motivates me to step out of my room and go to visit some country parks in Hong Kong. B-)

  3. It’s nice of you to put lots of beautiful photos in the essay. Your essay evokes my memories about going to country park with my families and friends. And i want to go to BBQ after reading it ,i am kinda hungry.

    • Thank You Aciky and Jeanie~!
      Yes, it’s a beautiful place in such a busy and noisy city~!
      Just find sometime and go there to feel its peaceful natural environment~!
      You must feel relaxed~! 😀
      Yah~! I like to take photo~!!!!!! Thanks for reading my essay. ; )

Leave a Reply

